Skip to content
Blackburn with Darwen Counts — Blackburn with Darwen, in numbers.Local help →

Blackburn with Darwen, in numbers

People and living standards

Blackburn with Darwen council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Blackburn with Darwen council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 137,402 in 1991 to 163,801 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Blackburn with Darwen council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 138,778 people in 1996; 163,801 people in 2025. 18% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Blackburn with Darwen council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991137,402
1992137,775
1993138,912
1994139,515
1995139,558
1996138,778
1997138,748
1998139,568
1999138,233
2000138,196
2001138,453
2002139,538
2003140,429
2004141,418
2005142,145
2006143,110
2007143,942
2008144,902
2009146,197
2010146,966
2011147,657
2012148,532
2013149,148
2014149,579
2015150,490
2016151,497
2017152,312
2018152,787
2019154,066
2020154,564
2021154,954
2022155,987
2023158,543
2024161,618
2025163,801
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Blackburn with Darwen council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 35,062 people in 1996; 36,552 people in 2025. 4.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Blackburn with Darwen council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,693
199233,991
199334,535
199435,115
199535,233
199635,062
199735,146
199835,261
199934,991
200034,944
200134,618
200234,653
200334,490
200434,315
200534,266
200634,261
200734,185
200834,126
200934,415
201034,386
201134,289
201234,460
201334,602
201434,670
201534,917
201635,229
201735,675
201835,503
201935,594
202035,390
202135,220
202235,310
202335,803
202436,419
202536,552
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Blackburn with Darwen council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 84,568 people in 1996; 103,739 people in 2025. 22.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Blackburn with Darwen council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199183,797
199283,967
199384,695
199484,919
199584,963
199684,568
199784,647
199885,501
199984,638
200084,898
200185,521
200286,573
200387,587
200488,675
200589,504
200690,546
200791,430
200892,242
200993,096
201093,716
201194,217
201294,189
201394,256
201494,244
201594,556
201694,957
201795,080
201895,403
201996,292
202096,764
202197,184
202297,885
202399,832
2024102,030
2025103,739
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Blackburn with Darwen council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,148 people in 1996; 23,510 people in 2025. 22.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Blackburn with Darwen council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,912
199219,817
199319,682
199419,481
199519,362
199619,148
199718,955
199818,806
199918,604
200018,354
200118,314
200218,312
200318,352
200418,428
200518,375
200618,303
200718,327
200818,534
200918,686
201018,864
201119,151
201219,883
201320,290
201420,665
201521,017
201621,311
201721,557
201821,881
201922,180
202022,410
202122,550
202222,792
202322,908
202423,169
202523,510
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 154,741 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blackburn with Darwen · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh55,17835.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,4060.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,5961.7%
White93,39260.4%
Other ethnic group2,1691.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 147,489 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blackburn with Darwen · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White102,00969.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,8231.2%
Asian/Asian British41,49428.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British9330.6%
Other ethnic group1,2300.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 137,470 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blackburn with Darwen · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White107,12477.9%
Mixed1,2620.9%
Asian/Asian British28,38420.6%
Black/Black British3180.2%
Chinese/Other3820.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 31.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Blackburn with Darwen council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,327 per person in 1997; £17,707 per person in 2024. 112.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Blackburn with Darwen council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,327
19988,334
19998,782
20008,779
20019,084
20029,032
20039,449
20049,775
200510,239
200610,541
200710,730
200810,768
200911,009
201011,342
201111,283
201211,425
201311,484
201411,866
201512,117
201612,234
201713,246
201813,940
201914,298
202014,612
202115,227
202215,744
202316,834
202417,707
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Blackburn with Darwen council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -21.5% in 1997; -31.8% in 2024. 10.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Blackburn with Darwen council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-21.5
1998-23
1999-22.4
2000-26.2
2001-26.6
2002-28.6
2003-27.5
2004-28
2005-27.2
2006-28
2007-30.1
2008-31.6
2009-31.2
2010-29.8
2011-30.8
2012-32.4
2013-34.4
2014-34.4
2015-36.3
2016-36.5
2017-32.8
2018-31.7
2019-32.1
2020-30.4
2021-30.3
2022-31.4
2023-31.2
2024-31.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53.2%

21 March 2021 · Blackburn with Darwen council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

24.8%

21 March 2021 · Blackburn with Darwen council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

24.2%

21 March 2021 · Blackburn with Darwen council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.6%

21 March 2021 · Blackburn with Darwen council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£165,000

July 2026 · Blackburn with Darwen council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£714

August 2026 · Blackburn with Darwen council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.